- India Kuwait News and updates


BSK Cricket Tournament - Billava Trophy 2024 - Season 10

Sunday, March 3, 2024
BSK Cricket Tournament - Billava Trophy 2024 - Season 10

BSK Cricket Tournament for Men, Women and Kids

Billava Sangha Kuwait (BSK) successfully conducted their 10th Season of Cricket Tournament “Billava Trophy” on Sunday 25th February 2024 at TRC New Ground, Reggai, Kuwait. Along with men’s cricket, first time BSK conducted cricket tournament for Women and kids.

The daylong sporting event commenced at 6:30 am with the prayer and breaking of the coconut by Advisor Mr. Raghu C Poojary.

President Mr. Amarnath Suvarna in his welcome speech conveyed his best wishes to the participating teams.

Under kids category two teams, Shining stars and Rising stars took part in the tournament. Both teams played very well and finally Rising star beat Shining star to win the trophy.

Following sportspersons won award under kids category:

Player of the Match: Master Nikilesh R. Poojary – Rising Star

Best Batter: Master Tejas P. Poojary – Shining Star

Best Bowler: Master Nish K. Poojary – Rising Star

Under Women’s category two teams namely Billava Strikers and Warriors participated in the tournament. Both teams had intense competition and finally Billava Strikers emerged as the winner.

Following sportspersons won award under women’s category:

Player of 1st Match: Ms. Sushmitha D. Suvarna – Billava Strikers.

Player of 2nd Match: Ms. Shwetha S. Kotian – Billava Strikers.

Player of the Series: Ms. Sushmitha D. Suvarna – Billava Strikers.

Best Batter of the Series: Ms. Mamta Sandeep – Warriors

Best Bowler of the Series: Ms. Pooja Poojary – Warriors

Best catch of the Series: Ms. Shwetha S. Kotian – Billava Strikers.

Under Men’s Category, the following eight teams participated in the tournament:

1.Billava Tigers Riggae - A

2.Billava Tigers - B

3.Abbasiya Cricketers

4.Khaitan Cricketers

5.Old is Gold

6.Billava Brothers

7.Tulunadu Cricketers

8.Karavali Cricketers

After extreme competitions in the 12 rounds of league matches followed by two semifinals, Karavali Cricketers and Billava Tigers Riggae - A faced-off in the finals.

Finally, Billava Tigers Riggae - A clinched the trophy and Karavali Cricketers settled for Runners up.

Following sportspersons won “Man of the Match” awards under men’s category:

1st Match:Mr. Rajesh Ramdas Poojary – Billava Tigers Riggae - A

2nd Match:Mr. Akshay – Karavali Cricketers

3rd Match:Mr. Raviraj Kotian – Billava Tigers Riggae - A

4th Match:Mr. Vijay Poojary – Karavali Cricketers

5th Match:Mr. Vijay Poojary – Karavali Cricketers

6th Match:Mr. Sachin Sundara Kotian – Abbasiya Cricketers

7th Match:Mr. Ajay Kumar – Tulunadu Cricketers

8th Match:Mr. Sankethraj Yadav Kunder – Billava Tigers - B

9th Match:Mr. Mahesh – Khaitan Cricketers

10th Match:Mr. Naveen Poojary – Tulunadu Cricketers

11th Match:Mr. Shailesh Kotian – Billava Tigers - B

12th Match:Mr. Ajay Kumar – Tulunadu Cricketers

Semi Final 1: Mr. Vijay Poojary – Karavali Cricketers

Semi Final 2: Mr. Sandesh Salian – Billava Tigers Riggae - A

Final Match:Mr. Rajesh Ramdas Poojary – Billava Tigers Riggae - A

Man of the Series:Mr. Vijay Poojary – Karavali Cricketers

Best Batter of the Series:Mr. Rajesh Ramdas Poojary – Billava Tigers Riggae - A

Best Bowler of the Series:Mr. Shailesh Kotian – Billava Tigers Riggae - B

All the teams exhibited great sportsman during the tournament and thoroughly entertained the spectators with fierce competitions.

The MC for the award ceremony, Mr. Mithun Vishwanath welcomed Chief guest Mr. Salah Saud Ali Al Fajji, Management Committee and all the BSK members. Chief guest was welcomed with the bouquet of flower by President Mr. Amarnath Suvarna.

Chief guest Mr. Salah Saud Ali Al Fajji, BSK President Mr. Amarnath Suvarna, Vice President Mr. Suresh Kunder, Sports Secretary Mr. Anish Kotian and other BSK members presented the Trophies and Medals to the winning teams and the players.

President Mr. Amarnath Suvarna congratulated the winners and thanked all the teams for their participation. He offered his special thanks to the committee members for organizing the tournament flawlessly and all the BSK members for their support in making the event successful & memorable.

The trophies and medals for the men’s and women’s category were sponsored by M/s Suvarna Traders, Mangaluru while for the kids section trophies and medals was sponsored by Mr. Manoj Kotian, ONGC, Mangaluru. Other Sponsors for the event were by BSK Members Mr. Santosh Kotian, Mr. Venugopal, Mr. Chethan Poojary, Mr. Anish Kotian, Mr. Prashanth Poojary, Mr. Amarnath Suvarna, Mr. Suresh Kunder, Mr. Chitrek Bangera, Mr. Pradeep Kotian, Mr. Raghu C Poojary and Mr. Manoj Kumar. First Aid was provided by M/s Salmiya Clinic.

Kids team was coordinated by Mr. Amith Sanil while Mr. Sandesh Amin and Mr. Krishna S. Poojary facilitated women’s team.

The matches were fairly umpired by Mr. Antony Vijay, Mr. Jagadish Kharvi, Mr. Charan Bhaskar Shetty and Dian Fernandes. The scores were efficiently monitored and recorded by Mr. Arsene Asker D’Souza, Mr. Royal and Mr. Tilak Mendon while Live cricket score updating in mobile app was ably handled by technical team of M/s Kapico Travels & Tours.

BSK Committee honored the Sponsors, Umpires and the Scorekeepers.

The best moments of the action-packed event were captured by Mr. Prashanth Ferraro. BSK served tasty lunch from M/s Mughal Tandoori restaurant which was sponsored by committee advisor Mr. Raghu C Poojary.

The event concluded at 05:00 pm with the Vote of thanks by Sports Secretary Mr. Anish Kotian. An invitation was extended to all the BSK members to attend the “Family Picnic” on Friday 19 April 2024. is now on WhatsApp Channel    Follow Channel

📣 is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@IIK_News) and stay updated with the latest headlines

Read this article online at

Express your comment on this article

Submit your comments...
Disclaimer: The views expressed here are strictly personal and does not hold any responsibility on them. We shall endeavour to upload/publish as many of the comments that are submitted as possible within a reasonable span of time, but we do not guarantee that all comments that are submitted will be uploaded/published. Messages that harass, abuse or threaten other members; have obscene, unlawful, defamatory, libellous, hateful, or otherwise objectionable content; or have spam, commercial or advertising content or links are liable to be removed by the editors. We also reserve the right to edit the comments that do get published. Please do not post any private information unless you want it to be available publicly.

Community News

TEF Kuwait Organized Yoga & Meditation Class on 12th July 2024

Tamilnadu Engineers Forum (TEF), Kuwait, is a leading Engineering organization in Kuwait, the one & only ISO certified engin...

Telugu Kala Samithi (TKS), Kuwait new Executive Committee for 2024-25

TKS is the 35 Year oldest Telugu based organization in Kuwait. It aims to perpetuate, integrate, and adapt the cultural heri...

American Society of Safety Professionals Kuwait Chapter conducted Annual General Body Meeting

American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP) Kuwait Chapter conducted its Annual General Body Meeting for the term 2023-2...

IBAK conducted Summer Smash 2024

World Badminton Day will be celebrated annually on 5th July. In order to celebrate World Badminton day, The Indian Badmi...

Ernakulaam District Association Conducted Chess Tournament 2024

EDA conducted a Chess tournament at Abwab Institute, Salmiya dated on 28th June 2024. The tournament was inaugurated by Pr...

go top