Cricket Tournament Billava Trophy 2023 - Season 9

Sunday, March 5, 2023

Billava Sangha Kuwait (BSK) successfully organized their 9th Season of Cricket Tournament “Billava Trophy 2023” on Friday 24th February 2023 at RCC new ground, Reggai.

The MC of the event Mr. Mithun Vishwanath welcomed guests, management committee, and all the BSK members. Chief Guest for the inaugural ceremony, Mr. Hitesh Kumar and Mr. Surendra Kotian was welcomed with the bouquet of flower by the advisors Mr. Raghu C Poojary & Mr. Krishna Poojary respectively.

The daylong sporting event commenced at 9:00 am with the prayer and breaking the coconut by Mr. Raghu C Poojary. Vice-President Mr. Amarnath Suvarna in his welcome speech conveyed his best wishes to the participating teams. He urged everyone to participate and escalate the number of participating team from 8 numbers to 10 in the next year 2024 for Season 10. Tournament was inaugurated with symbolic play of the game by the chief guests Mr. Hitesh Kumar and Mr. Surendra Kotian.

The following eight teams participated in this tournament:
1. Abbasiya Friends
2. Billava Lions
3. Billava Tigers
4. Khaitan Cricketers
5. Khaitan Friends
6. Team 2023
7. Tulunadu Cricketers
8. Udupi Friends

After intense competitions in four rounds of league matches followed by two semifinals, Tulunadu Cricketers and Billava Tigers faced-off in the finals.

Finally, Tulunadu Cricketers emerged as the Winners and Billava Tigers as Runners up.

Following sportsperson won “Man of the Match” awards:
1st Match: Mr. Dinesh Heroor & Mr. Nagaraj Suvarna – Tulunadu Cricketers
2nd Match: Mr. Prashant Poojary – Team 2023
3rd Match: Mr. Dhanraj Poojary – Udupi Friends
4th Match: Mr. Ajith Kumar – Billava Tigers
Semi Final 1: Mr. Naveen Poojary – Tulunadu Cricketers
Semi Final 2: Mr. Naresh Poojary – Billava Tigers
Final Match: Mr. Sudhir Poojary – Tulunadu Cricketers
Best Bowler of the series: Mr. Nagaraj Suvarna – Tulunadu Cricketers
Man of the Series: Mr. Naveen Poojary – Tulunadu Cricketers

All the teams exhibited great sportsman during the tournament and thoroughly entertained the spectators with fierce competitions.

The event was sponsored by M/s Malabar Gold, M/s Masco Powder Coating, BSK Members Mr. Hari Prasad, Mr. Sandesh Amin, Mr. Mithun Vishwanath, Manoj Anchan Kaup and Mr. Venugopal. The RCC ground was sponsored by Mr. Jamsheer.

The matches were fairly umpired by Mr. Antony Vijay, Mr. Santosh Kunder, Mr. Jagadish. The scores were efficiently monitored and recorded by Mr. Yashpal Poojary, Mr. Yashwanth Poojary, Mr. Amarnath Suvarna, Mr. Rajath Amin and Mr. Shailesh.

Chief guest for the award ceremony, Mr. Sandeep Attavar and Mr. Manoj Kumar was welcomed with the bouquet of flower by President Ms. Sushma Manoj and Sports secretary Mr. Sandesh Amin.

BSK Committee honored the Sponsors, Umpires and the Scorekeepers.

President Ms. Sushma Manoj, guests Mr. Manoj Kumar & Mr. Sandeep Attavar and other BSK members presented the Trophies and Medals to the winning teams and the players.

President Ms. Sushma Manoj congratulated the winners and thanked all the teams for their participation. She offered her special thanks to the Sports Secretary Mr. Sandesh Amin, Sports committee, ground marking team for organizing the tournament flawlessly and all the BSK members for their support in making the event successful & memorable.

The best moments of the action-packed event were captured by Mr. Ghanshyam Attavar and team.

The event concluded at 05:00 pm with the Vote of thanks by General Secretary Mr. Anish Kotian. An invitation was extended to all the BSK members to attend the “Family Picnic” on Friday 17 March 2023 at Andalous Park.


Read this article at