Boubiyan Strikers winners of AJPAK- KSAC volleyball tournament

Tuesday, November 29, 2022

The team Boubyan Strikers emerged as the Winners of the AJPAK Volleyball tournament, received the AJPAK newly instituted late Sri Thomas Chandy memorial ever rolling trophy and the late Sri Udaya Kumar Memorial AJPAK trophy and a cash prize. MKVS Mouhabula team mostly containing of Srilankan players were the Runners up, received AJPAK Runners up trophy and cash prize.

Alappuzha Jilla Pravasi Association (AJPAK) Kuwait and Kerala Sports and Arts Club Abbasiya (KSAC) jointly conducted the volleyball tournament on Fridays 18 and 25 Nov 2022.The tournament was conducted on a league cum knockout basis in which eight prominent Indian, Nepali and Srilankan teams in Kuwait participated.

Mr Jain of MKVS Mouhabula team was selected as the best player of the tournament, received the best player trophy. The best attacker trophy was awarded to Mr Sheikh of the Boubiyan team. Mr Robin of Boubiyan team was selected as the best setter and Mr Karthik of the Mouhabulla team was selected as the best libero of the tournament.
The exciting matches were held at KSAC volleyball ground near Integrated Indian School Abbasiya created an ambience of any local volleyball tournaments in India with a huge number of spectators. The semi finals and the finals of the tournament were extended to Friday 25 Nov due to the bad weather conditions delayed the matches on Friday 18 Nov.
Engr. Hussian Al Rushaid the Engineering Supervisor Kuwait Airways, Dr. Amir Ahmed Chairman Kerala Flood Relief Committee, Sri. Shibu Paul MD Boubiyan Gas and Sri Biju George GM Boubiyan Gas were amongst the chief guests for the finals.

The AJPAK tournament committee extended their gratitude and thanks to Boubiyan Gas Kuwait, BEC Exchange Co. Kuwait, Al Ansari Exchange Co Kuwait, MEDX Medical Care Fahaeel, Hi Tech computers Abbasiya who were the sponsors of the tournament.

The AJPAK office bearers , Sri. Babu Panapilly, Sri.Rajeev Naduvilemuri, Sri. Binoy Chandran, Sri Kurien Thomas, Sri Anil Vallikunnam, Sri Cyril Alex John, Sri.Libu Varghese, Sri Rahul Dev, Sri Babu Thalavady, Sri Biji Pallikkal, Sri GS Pillai, Sri Hari Pathiyoor along with the KSAC counterpart Sri. Shijo Thomas, Sri Vinod Jose, Sri Pradeep Joseph, Sri Albin Joseph, Sri Joseph Chacko, Sri Thomas Mathew, Sri Viji Philip jointly worked as a team for the successful completion of the tournament.

The organizers said that the tournament helped to keep the volleyball live in Kuwait and to promote the harmony among the various expat communities in Kuwait.


Read this article at