MCYM- KMRM SMASH Season-2 Badminton Tournament - 2022

Monday, October 31, 2022

Youth wing of Kuwait Malankara Rite Movement ( KMRM ) Malankara Catholic Youth Movement (MCYM) Successfully conducted the 2nd season of SMASH Open Badminton Tournament at ISMASH Badminton Academy on 28th of October 2022.

The tournament was inaugurated by MCYM Director Rev Fr. John Thundiyath. The tournament was organised by the leadership of MCYM President Nobin Philip, Secretary James KS, Treasurer Fino Mathew Patric. Tournament Convenor Bittu Abraham, Tournament Managers Rijo V George and Juby Geroge, Reji Achenkunju.

The event witnessed the participation of players from countries like Kuwait, India, Pakistan, Philippines, Malaysia, Indonesia and Egypt. 140 teams with 280 players in various age groups competed in the tournament in various categories. Famous DK Dance organized a flash mob which was refreshing and a visual treat for all the players and vibrant spectators.

The tournament was supported and supervised by the Umpiring panel of the IBAK team. Dr Manimara Chozhan, chairman of IBAK, was the chief guest for the closing and prize distribution ceremony.

The Platinum sponsor for the event was FRiENDi Mobiles by Connect Arabia W.L.L. Golden Sponsor was Al Mulla Exchange, and Silver sponsor was Magicarpet.

The awards and prize distribution was done by Rev Fr. John Thundiyath, KMRM President Mr.Joseph K Daniel, IBAK Chairman Dr. Manimaran Chozhan. Mr. Asif Abdul Gaffar FRiENDi Mobiles Marketing manager, Mr. Huzefa Sadanpurwala Marketing Manager Al Mulla Exchange.
Mrs Maneka Varghese Product Manager Magicarpet. and other MCYM, KMRM officials.

Winner of Various Categories are:-

Pro Advanced Doubles
Winner - Harshath Kadar Usen / Gireesh Divakaran
Runner up - Shrihari G / Joby Mathew.

Advanced Doubles
Winner - Joby Mathew / Bibin Joy
Runner up - Gireesh Divakaran / Anand S

Intermediate Doubles
Winner - Dipin Moorkoth / Elsan
Runner Up - Binal / jubin

Lower Intermediate Doubles
Winner - Binu Thomas / Judson Peter
Runner Up - Sathyan / Ajith Kumar.

Inter KMRM
Winner - Fino Mathew Patric / Ajeo Russel
Runner Up - Reji Achenkunju / Jilto James.


Read this article at