“MAK Champions Trophy 2020 –Season 4” Volley Ball & Throw Ball Tournament

Monday, March 2, 2020

MOGAVEERS ASSOCIATION KUWAIT, Affiliated to Indian embassy Kuwait, is the community welfare association of non-resident Mogaveeras, based in Kuwait. For the fourth time MAK organised, National level Volleyball & Throw Ball Tournament under the title of “MAK Champion Trophy 2020 “on 25th February 2020. The tournament was held at American International School Maidan Hawally,Kuwait.

The tournament coincided with the National day of Kuwait celebration. The weather was pleasant, the participants & the MAK members were all geared up for the tournament.

The day long tournament commenced at 7.30 am with a parade of all the participating Teams , the MAK Management Committee, Volunteers & the guests. The grand opening was led by talented committee member Mr.Suresh Salian. On behalf of MAK Management Committee Mrs Poonam Mendon & Mr.Nishanth Salian, the host for the day welcomed the gathering. This was followed by Kuwait & Indian National Anthem.

The chief Guests of the day were Mr.Anant Kapadia who is the chairman of Indian Bussiness & professional Council Kuwait & Mr.P.K Venkat Deputy Chief operating Officer of Art of living.The other guest for the day was Mr.Suresh Shyam Rao who is a Freelance Press reporter for web news portals & print media. The guests were presented with a florel Bouquet. Mr.Ramesh Kidiyoor Convenor & Founder President of MAK was honoured for his excellent service & contribution towards MAK. Mrs Monika Cornelio Co-ordinator of Kuwait Konkans (Throw Ball) & Mr Noel Cutniha Manager of Boubyan Stikers(Volley Ball) were honoured for their excellent contribution towards sports in Kuwait & also for their outstanding support for MAK.
Mr.Chennaraj MK Senior member of MAK was honoured with a momemto & bouquet for his excellent service & contribution towards MAK ,as he was leaving Kuwait for good.

Mr.Rajesh Mendon, President of MAK in his speech welcomed the gathering and stressed the importance of playing with true sportsman spirit and thanked all the teams for their support as this event is done for MAK welfare projects. The guests in their speech encouraged the players & conveyed their best wishes and good luck to the participating teams and organizers.

The president of MAK Mr.Rajesh Mendon ,Convenor Mr.Ramesh Kidiyoor along with the chief guest inaugurated the Volley Ball & Throw Ball tournament by cutting the ribbon .The Medals & trophies of the tournament were unveiled by sports Secretary Mr.Arun Mendon and PRO & Welfare officer Mr.Jaya Kotian .

Mrs Geetha Suvarna Committee member of MAK Along with Mrs Monika Cornelio inaugurated the Throw ball Court & Mr.Sachidananda Suvarna Vice president of MAK along with Guests ianugrated the Volley ball Court by servicing the ball.

The other guests for the day Mr.Wilson Dsouza-Expresident Tulukoota, Mr.Tharendra Shettigar Expresident Tulukoota ,Mr.Vijay Wilson Gen Secretary Tulukoota, Mr.Roshan Quadras Sports Secretary Tulukoota ,Mr.Lional Mascarenhas Welfare Officer Tulukoota , Mr.Manoj BangeraAdvisor Billava Sangha, Mrs Sushma Manoj Vice President of Billava Sangha, Mr.Lawrence Pinto,Mr.Ganesh Hegde,Mr.Vakas Khan & Mr.Sudakar Shetty Convenor of Tulukoota .All of them were honoured with a bouquet.
The participating Volley Ball Teams were as below

Bayan Salmiya, Boubyan Strikers, Riggae Volley, Kunjal Friends,Salmiya Spikers, KSAC, MKV stikers

The participating Throw Ball Teams were as below

Canara Eleven, Dragon Sorpions Queens,Warriors, Kuwait Konkans A,Alfa, Kuwait Konkans B & Scorpions

The volleyball inaugural first round match started between Bayan Salmiya & Salmiya Spikers & the first round of throw ball inaugural match was between Canara Eleven & Warriors .The teams played with full enthusiasm and viewers enjoyed and experienced the spectacular show. As the day progressed matches kept rolling one after another.

The Event Sponsors were TVS Travels & Cargo Co.WLL

Gold Sponsor were Oriental Restaurant Kuwait,Silver Sponsor Badar Al Samah Medical center

Bestwishes from Vision Direct logistics, Mr.Wilson D’Souza & family & Mrs Monika Cornelia

Printing of Raffle was sponsored By Turmeric Restaurant

The referees for Volley Ball were Mr.Alexander Mathew & Mr.Sajan Samuel

The referees for Throw Ball were Mr.Ivan Dsouza & Mr.Arun Mendon.

The scorers for Throw Ball Team were Mrs.Geetha Suvarna , Mr.Rakshith Suvarna & Mr.Ganesh Hegde

The scorers for Volley ball team were Mr.Kishore Kotian , Mr.Nithin Suvarna & Mr.Santhosh Kunder

The announcements was done by Mr.Girish Mehta & Mr.Kishore Kotian

Sumptuous Breakfast, Lunch & snacks was provided by Bollywood Restaurant

Beautiful moments of the day was captured by the Mr.Rajesh Devadiga

Design of Brochure & Banner by Mr.Sachidanada Suvarna.

Wonderful Back ground Music By DJ Mr.Ronald D’Souza Mulky

Sound System was provided by Anand Sounds


The Volley Ball ended with a finale of Final matches between MKV Strikers & Team Boubyan Strikers After a tough Battle between the two strong teams, Team Boubyan Strikers bagged the Winners Trophy & Team MKV Strikers were declared the First Runner up.The second runners up trophy was won by Reggai Volley. MAK Player of the tournament for Volley Ball was secured by Mr.Rahul of Team Boubyan Strikers.

On the other hand, throw ball tournament ended with League matches. Team Dragon Scorpion Queens defeated the opponents and became the winners for the Fourth Consecutive year. 1st Runners up was won by Kuwait Konkans A and Team Alfa stood up as the 2nd Runners. MAK Player of the tournament for throw ball was secured by Ms. Hancil Pinto of Team Dragon Scorpion Queens.

Prize distribution ceremony

Mr.Firoz Manager of TVS Cargo &Travels Co,Mr.Sathischandra Shetty Owner of Oriental restaurant, , Mr.Chandrahas Shetty- PRO & Expresident Tulukoota Graced the prize distribution ceremony As a token of respect they were presented with a florel Bouquet

President Mr.Rajesh Mendon , Convenor Mr.Ramesh Kidiyoor along with the guest awarded the trophies and medals to winners, whereas the MAK members gave away the trophies & medals to runners up team & the individual achievers.

A Raffle Draw was conducted by MAK & the winners are as below
1st Prize : Mr.Muruganathan
2nd Prize : Mrs.Lancy Fernandes
3rd Prize : Mr.Ganesh Kotian

The 10 consolation prize winners were Yadav Reggai,Athaulla,Imtiyaz,Irin Dsouza,Arif,Prakash Poojary,Pranavi Laksh,Ajith Kumar & Sudesh

In her vote of Thanks Mrs.Poonam Mendon thanked each and everyone who were responsible for the success of the tournament, Participants,sponsor’s, organisers, MAK Vounteers, MAK management Committee & Executive Committee. Finally a special thanks was given to the Management & Staff of American International School Maidan Hawally for the awesome venue.


Read this article at www.indiansinkuwait.com