Young Sri Lankan Sports Club Wins Kuwait Cricket T20 Premier League Division-2 cricket tournament

Monday, April 23, 2012

Young Sri Lankan Sports Club sponsored by Apple Premium Reseller and authorized Service provider trashed Kharafi National by 5 wickets to win the prestigious Kuwait Cricket T20 Premier League Division-2 cricket tournament concluded over the weekend at Sulaibiya cricket ground.

Having won the toss, Kharafi National skipper Dennis Fernandes elected to bat on what seems to be good batting wicket but were soon in trouble with Dennis and Alwyn both back in the pavilion as YSSC pacers bowled to tight line giving only 29 runs during the restricted overs. Since then YSSC never looked back as they applied more pressure supported by some superb fielding to bundle out Kharafi for 101 run in 19.3 overs. Opening bat Selva played superbly with some resistance to score 24 runs and also towards end Shahnaz and Ershad scored 13 and 15 respectively.

YSSC who had already won the TACK’s Division-2 TDL3 cup earlier in the season was seems to be over confident chasing a target of 102 runs but were too in trouble soon similar to Kharafi as their elegant left hand opening batsman Rifkas got out cheaply for one run in the very first over trying to pull a short pitch delivery from Selva when score was 13 on board. Captain Thushara joined Nalaka and after striking two elegant cover drives consecutively was brilliantly caught at deep covers when tried for the third and YSSC were seems to be in more trouble with 17/2 on board after 2 overs.

But this was not a problem for ruthless Botheju as he took charge of the situation immediately by launched the counter attack together with Nalaka to put up a 27 runs partnership in 15 balls before Nalaka got bowled out for 5 runs from a superbly bowled delivery by Ershad giving some hope for Kharafi. Adding salt to the wound Kuwait national Jagath too got out cheaply for 2 runs when score was 58 in the 7th overs.

However, hard hitting middle order bat Manju and YSSC’s most prolific run getter Botheju still at the crease on 53 with 5 glorious sixes to his credit, YSSC’s hopes were still very much alive as they were well ahead of the required run rate to be 76/4 after 8 overs. Ershad bowling the 9th over managed to claim destructive Botheju’s wickets brining Kharafi hopes once again alive as all top order batsmen of YSSC were back in the pavilion.

It was at this juncture Old war horse Arjuna joined and kept one end in tack with his long time experience while Manju continued attacking from the other end to score 18 runs put up together an unbroken 22 runs partnership to seal the victory for YSSC with 5 wickets and 26 deliveries remaining and the finals was officiated by KCUP umpires, Mr. Mohd. Riaz Choudhari and Mr. Zahid Usman

In the Semifinals, YSSC (147/5 in 17.2) beat Lexus (146/7 in20.0) by 5 wickets and Kharafi National (105/8 in 19.1) beat Al Qaddar (104/10 in 18.0) by 2 wickets.

The occasion was graced by the visiting ex-Bangladeshi Test/ODI cricketer Mr. Mohd. Sanwar Hossain who played 9 tests, 27 ODIs and in World Cup 2003, Mr. Hasannuzzaman also an ex- Bangladeshi international (1992-2003) along with Kuwait Cricket Council chairman Mr. Jeff De Lange, Director General Mr. Asad Baig, Kuwait Umpires Panel Director Mr. Riaz Choudhari and various other dignatories.
Winners trophy and prize money of US $ 1,000/- was awarded to YSSC (DIGITS) team by the visiting Bangladeshi Test/ODI cricketer Mr. Mohd. Sanwar Hossain and Kuwait Cricket Council Chairman Mr. Jeff De Lange respectively.

Runners-up trophy and prize money of US $ 500/- was awarded to Kharafi National team by the visiting Bangladesh international cricketer Mr. Mohd. Hasannuzzaman and Kuwait Cricket Director General Mr. Asad Baig respectively.

Player of the Tournament and Player of the Final trophies were awarded by Mr. Asad Baig and Mr. Mohd. Sanwar Hossain together with Mr. Jeff De Lange respectively to YSSC cricketer Wender Botheju for aggregating 324 runs (including a century and two half centuries) and claiming 6 wickets.

At the end of ceremony, Kuwait Cricket Council chairman Mr. Jeff De Lange thank all the teams participated in all the KC league tournaments during the 2011/12 season, the two visiting Bangladeshi cricketers, the Domestic Affairs Director Mr. Sudhakar Shetty and other KC official for facilitating and organizing such a wonderful events, match officials and scorers, grounds management staff especially the Sulaibiya grounds-man Umer Khan for providing excellent wickets and playing field and rest all those who are working behind the screen.

Scores Summary
Kharafi National: 101 for all out in 19.3 overs.
Batting: Selva 24, Ershad 15, Firoz 13, Shahanaz 13
Bowling: Yohan 3/17, Botheju 2/13, Thushara 2/19, Rifkas 1/8, Jagath 1/9

YSSC: 102/5 in 15.4 overs
Batting: Botheju 53, Manju 18 n.o
Bowling: Ershad 3/23, Shahnaz 1/18, Jalid 1/21 n me

Read this article online at