GOA FC All-India Football Tournament Capxem Boys crowned Champions

Gasper Crasto
Wednesday, June 27, 2018

A star studded Capxem Boys were crowned champions of the first edition All India 7-aside Football Tournament organized by Goa Football Club at Bayan grounds on 22nd June 2018.

Capxem Boys beat Ave Maria 3-2 in the tie-breaker. 24 exciting teams took part in the one-day tournament.

In the semi-finals, Capxem Boys had the better of Silver Stars while Ave Maria overcame favorites Indian Strikers.

Champions Capxem Boys comprised of Casiano D’Souza (President), Melwin Fernandes (Team Manager), Jimmy Pereira (coach), Kistod Pixeito, Melwin Fernandes, Myron Fernandes, Joel Fernandes, Ajay Lobo, Marcus D'Costa, Reagan Fernandes, Edwin Fernandes, Josse Fernandes, Christo Colaco, Melvin Fernandes and Jimmy Pereira.

Runners-up Ave Maria squad consisted of Bruno Trinidade (Team Manager), Savio Richard (coach), Alido Gomes (goalkeeper), Stevan Rodrigues, Glavin D'Souza, Ronny Fernandes, Jayden Fernandes, Peter Fernandes, Vicky Waghmare, Leo Rodrigues, Vishal Kotak and Gilberto Dias.

The matches were officiated by IFRA referees, the officials included Julio Cardozo, Sarto Baptista, Francis Fernandes, Tiago Fernandes, Jose, Steven Rodrigues, Alvaro Dias, Zeon Fernandes and Philip Ferrao.

Founder member of Kuwait Indian Football Federation (KIFF) Mr. V.K. Vohra was chief guest at the event and later spoke during the prize distribution ceremony.
Mr. Fidelis Fernandes was guest of honor, he also shared his views during the presentation. Other dignitaries present on the occasion included KIFF President Derrick Gomindes, Xavier Furtado, Felix de Merces, Robert Bernard and Mrs Georgina Pereira.

Mr. Vohra while congratulating the winners, praised Goa FC for organizing a grand tournament.

The event was made all the more spectacular with expert commentary and compering by Gasper Crasto. Sunny D’Souza spiced up the evening with musical fillers and super sound; he also covered the tournament with his lens.

Vice President of Goa FC Michael Pereira proposed a vote of thanks. He thanked all the participating teams, IFRA officials, sponsors and everyone who rendered their help in making the tournament a huge success.

Prizes were presented at the hands of Mr. V.K. Vohra, Fidelis Fernandes, Xavier Furtado, Gabriel Felix, Marcelino Pereira, Georgina Pereira, etc.

The tournament was sponsored by Boushari Group, Abul Salaam Shahul Hameed, Denzil D’Souza, Casiano D’Souza, Gabriel Felix, Rafael Rodrigues, Goa Football Club, Well-wishers, etc.

Apart from the glittering trophies, the winners and runners-up were awarded cash prizes and individual medallions.
Following prizes were awarded at the presentation ceremony:

Fair Play Trophy – Silver Stars

Best Goalkeeper – Kistod Peixote (Capxem Boys)

Best Player of the Tournament – Vishal Kotak (Ave Maria)

Top Scorer of the Tournament – Jayden Fernandes (Ave Maria)

Man of the Match (Final) – Joel Fernandes (Capxem Boys)

GFC Committee members who left no stone unturned to ensure everything went smooth comprised of Peter Pereira (President), Milagres Pereira (Vice President), Marcelino Pereira - Sports Secretary, Phillip Ferrao – Coach, Salman Mhaslai, Paul Pereira, Custodio Fernandes, etc.

Read this article online at

Express your comment on this article

Submit your comments...
Disclaimer: The views expressed here are strictly personal and IndiansinKuwait.com does not hold any responsibility on them. We shall endeavour to upload/publish as many of the comments that are submitted as possible within a reasonable span of time, but we do not guarantee that all comments that are submitted will be uploaded/published. Messages that harass, abuse or threaten other members; have obscene, unlawful, defamatory, libellous, hateful, or otherwise objectionable content; or have spam, commercial or advertising content or links are liable to be removed by the editors. We also reserve the right to edit the comments that do get published. Please do not post any private information unless you want it to be available publicly.

Community News

Indo Kuwait Friendship Society, (a non-profit socio cultural association in Kuwait) Patrons Muzammil Mullick and Ayyoub Kec...

Overseas NCP Kuwait celebrated the 21st foundation day of NCP India (10th June 2019) and was held in Abbasiya KAK Hall. On t...

Bhavan's Toastmasters Club, Kuwait elected its new Executive Committee for 2019-20. TM Sunil Thomas is the new President an...

NSS Kuwait area wise Annual General Body meetings had been conducted during the month of May 2019. Annual Reports and Audite...

Hyderabad Muslim Welfare Association (HMWA) hosted a grand and traditional annual Iftar get together, which was held on Thu...